Curl Power

So the Today Show has this new segment they have been doing all week long titled “Curl Power” by Dove. When I saw this segment I became excited, that the Today Show will be talking about curly hair which means they will talk about natural hair. Well peeps so far I have been disappointed once again. So far in each segment I have only seen women with looser curly hair on each segment mostly Caucasian women, Hispanic women, and Biracial women. Which is nothing wrong with that, I love seeing women of all races embrace their natural hair. I just wish and was hoping to see an African-American woman who have kinky coily hair, be feature on the segment as well. Having and African-American woman with tighter curl or coils embracing her natural hair. Would have spoken loudly for the African-American community, because of the serious issue of hair among our community. Recently I twitted out my concern about the Today Show segment, using the hash tag #CurlPower. Below is the response I received from Dove.

2015/01/img_7634.png

I didn’t respond back to Dove because in my mind I was like okay cool Dove saw my response, and probably would make a point to feature women with different type of curly hair. But I was wrong again, today’s segment was more of the same. My question is what is it about coily kinky hair, that us kinky hair chicks can’t get equal representation on TV, or even in the stores when it comes to hair products? Yes I know we have natural hair bloggers and vloggers, but I will like and hope to see more people who have hair like me in mainstream media rocking their natural kinky hair. Please leave comment below, I really want to hear your thoughts on this.

2 thoughts on “Curl Power

  1. I believe the answer to your question is fear. Fear keeps mainstream media from featuring kinky hair. Many people including kinky girls themselves don’t know what to do with kinky hair. Fear leads to avoidance/repression. I’m sure they figured that by featuring biracial girls they had the black community covered. Because we are so dynamic they can get away with that. Kinky girls need someone to break through. A sort of media ambassador to represent their beauty!

Leave a Reply

